Ransomes MG5 – My latest project!

Home Forums The Machinery Forums Ride-on machines Ransomes MG5 – My latest project!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 58 total)
  • Author
    vhgmcbuddy

Hi all,

I must confess I am new to Ransomes Crawlers and have recently purchased an MG5. Something thta I’ve been keeping an eye out for 7 or 8 years now. It was only recently that one came up locally and at the right price. 🙂

I have many questions regarding this beast, mostly around trying to see if I can get it running. I plan to purchase the parts manual online as I am certain it needs a new spark plug.

A friend and I tried to get it to start after collecting it from the previous owner and we only mananged a few coughs and a small backfire. I’ve put fresh fuel in the tank, and confirmed we do have a spark, but it does appear to have non funcitioning fuel pump. So instead we filled the float chamber up with petrol to see if we could run it like so – no luck.

So, back to basics it is. New spark plug and a check of the points gap and then further investigation of the carb and fuel pump.

A few questions if I may.

1) Where is the best place to get spares? I know I need a new pipe from the pump to the carb (the current one seems to have an inline non return valve – is this correct?)
    2) Does my manifold setup look correct to you? There was mention of TVO. Presume it is OK for petrol only?
    3) I am trying to date this machine. The serial number on the back reads: 7262. Can it be dated from this?

I’ll try and add some pictures..

Attachments:
    vhgmcbuddy

A few more pictures of collection.. and a picture showing the front cover off.

Attachments:
    ransomes256
    Participant

Congratulations on your purchase.
    I am recognised as the supplier of parts for the Ransomes crawlers and would initially make the following observations.
    The carburettor is not original for an MG5 but from a later MG6. Some consider this a better carburettor Amal 356/1.