Ransomes Marquis 18"- tuning

Home Forums The Machinery Forums Pedestrian operated machines Ransomes Marquis 18"- tuning

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    vhgmcbuddy

I’ve just managed to get my Grandfather’s old Marquis running. It is, however, very hard to control, it is either running very fast (and cutting beautifully) or stopped, it is very difficult to get it to run at a fair walking pace.
    Is this likely to be an issue with the engine or the running gear? Should I strip down the clutch or lubricate the gears?
    I am very new to dealing with vintage lawnmowers so any help would be gratefully received!
    Jon

Attachments:
    stuart
    Participant

I guess the carburation needs some attention.That particular engine should idle beautifully so strip and clean the carburettor and adjust the throttle stop screw (the one with the lock nut in the pic) to obtain a nice “tick-over” speed.It may also need the ignition system looking at too.

wristpin
    Participant

As has been suggested, all that may be needed is a thorough clean of the carburettor.
    However it should be noted that the BSA/Villiers Sloper engine fitted to the machine is “ungoverned”. That is to say,there is no automatic compensation for changes in load – its all down to a sensitive finger on the throttle lever.
    In the interest of reliability it may be worth considering replacing the contact breaker points and condenser with a a solid state electronic module such as a Meco or Nova unit. Once fitted these remove the need for regular magneto maintenance and give a degree of automatic ignition timing not present with the standard system.
    There is also just a possibility that at some time the centrifugal clutch shoes have been refitted incorrectly: this results in a snatchy take up of the drive rather that the correct smooth take up which allows a Marquis to be driven “on the throttle” and the landroll clutch reserved for emergencies and parking.

hillsider