Westwood T1100 recognition.

Home Forums The Machinery Forums Ride-on machines Westwood T1100 recognition.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    vhgmcbuddy

Hi, I am new to vhgmc and I am hoping someone with knowledge of early Westwoods will help me roughly identify or age a sit on that has just come my way via ebay for renovation. I can,t find any model or series plates under the seat or under the bonnet. the same applies to the Briggs & S engine though I might see the marking on the engine after de-greasing. The bonnet is orange, plain (no raised boxes) with square edges it is locked down by an over the centre sprung clip. Black front grill with headlights. There is a black spare petrol tank mounted between driver legs. I have had a look at my neighbours Westwood which looks almost the same but has no bonnet clip, no headlights, no spare tank. I notice his tractor has rounded control knobs where as my one has square knobs. I am hoping by approximately ageing the tractor I can look at a parts list for parts recognition. Thanks in anticipation

diyeric.

will-haggle
    Participant

Briggs and Stratton engines have a date in the engine number. This is a link to their site where you can de-code your engine number. http://briggsstratton.guided.ss-omtrdc.net/?q=*&do=faq It is stamped into the cowling….

Attachments:
    stuart
    Participant

It will be mid 1980,s.Providing its still the original engine fitted (or cooling cowl fitted) then its easy to date the engine as the reply above.

vhgmcbuddy
    vhgmcbuddy

Still haven’t found the engine number on the side of the cowling, it might be hidden by the petrol tank that raps itself around one side of the engine or hidden by the air filter on the opposite side. Engine is as shown in the early 1980’s parts lists and diagrams.