Simar 56A Carb

Home Forums General Help and information Simar 56A Carb

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    vhgmcbuddy

Some of you may be aware that I recently became the owner of a Simar 56A. With help from Charlie, we established that the carb fitted wasn’t correct, being an Amal 348/7. I was recently lucky enough to spot a correct Amal 244/544 for sale, but the owner indicated that it wasn’t complete as it was missing the needle. I am no expert on these carbs, but am I right in thinking that they don’t actually have a needle?
    Anyway, decided to purchase it (see photo 0001) and upon stripping it down, it all seems present and correct apart from the main jet which has been damaged by the fixing bolt for the float bowl. The bowl has been overtightened, causing it to dish inwards, which has then allowed bolt to hit the jet. Does anyone know the Amal part number for the main jet? Also, does anyone have an Amal square jet key, part number 7/099 that they might be willing to lend to me (I would cover any postage costs)?

Thanks,

Sean

Attachments:
    oddhatuk
    Participant

This looks identical to the carburetor on the Ransome MG2. Neil Jarrett sells jet keys for the original square headed jets, part no S24

charlie
    Keymaster

Glad to know you got a carb. I suspect it leaked a bit around bowl to body joint so owner thought tighten it more, hence the damage. There should be a gasket around top of float chamber.
    The jet might be saved with a bit of careful ‘adjustment’ with pliers. The important part is the hole in the jet, not sure how critical the damaged part is, so long as it does not block the hole. I guess it could be there to ensure fuel is picked up when level drops in the float chamber.

vhgmcbuddy

Thanks for the info chaps.