Ransomes Motor Triple Mk4 Clutch

Home Forums Groundcare Machinery Grass Cutting Machinery Ransomes Motor Triple Mk4 Clutch

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    smithyb
    Participant

Hi Folks,

I have a Ransomes Motor Triple Mk4, I’ve had it about 3 years and I really enjoy using it and working on it. I am no mechanic but so far I have found it reasonably easy to work on.

A problem started this week when I was cutting the lawn. For no apparent reason the clutch would not disengage when on idle. No familiar “ding ding ding” sound and the cylinders would not stop rotating as would normally happen. I had to pull it out of gear to stop.

I am hoping that it might be a broken spring or two in the clutch which is stopping the clutch from disengaging however my problem is I can’t get the clutch plate off.

I have taken off the 2 stud nuts and the central bolt and I assumed the plate would slide off with a bit of encouragement. I connected a puller to the plate which is what I assume the 2 threaded holes are for and pulled against the center where the bolt was, but it didn’t budge. I have spent a few hours at it now and I just can’t figure it out.

The attached photo shows how it is now.

I would appreciate any information on how to get the plate off.

The grass needs to be cut again and it’s just not as much fun on the 2 year old Honda!

Thanks in advance.

Attachments:
    wristpin
    Participant

The last time I worked on an MT was about 40 years ago, but I think that you are on the right track. The drum may need a bit more persuasion.
    However, there is someone on this forum, Trusty220, who may be able to impart practical knowledge.

wristpin
    Participant

I’ve had poke around my collection of old manuals and the best I can come up with is the attached for a Mk2.
    Thinking about your broken spring theory, it could also be a seized shoe pivot or even a detached lining. keep us posted.

Attachments:
    smithyb
    Participant