bmb ploughmate

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

good morning all
    could anyone help me out please,i have a bmb ploughmate with a briggs and stratton zz engine which is poorly,need to get my hands on a barrel and a carbureter for this engine,as would like to keep it as original as possible,
    does anybody know of any ploughing competitions with the walk behind tractors in the lancashire or merseyside area
    many thanks

chap
    Participant

Sorry i am no expert on the ZZ but with ref to ploughing matches look at the Society of Ploughmen web site Local matches most will run a horti class http://www.ploughmen.co.uk/
    hope that helps.

charlie
    Keymaster

It might be possible to save the bore by having it honed.

joegrgraham
    Participant

I’ve just finished the B + S ZZ engine on my Trusty. Carb’s do turn up on a certain auction site, and if you go on the .com (US) version of said site, you will find plenty of people offering carb kits. I got one from the US, N.O.S including postage cost about £25 and only took a couple of weeks to arrive. If you’re interested, PM me and I’ll pass on a couple of sellers who supply parts.

Joe.

franktonpaget
    Participant

The B&S ZZ engine was fitted to early production BMB Ploughmate’s
    A publication which may be helpfull to you is The Motor Traders Service Data sheet No 116 “Servicing the BMB Tractor” published in October 1942 gives data on engine and complete machine.
    Postwar American built B&S engines were not used in cash strapped UK by BMB and particularly after devaluation of pound against USA dollar also became much more costly.
    You could fit the alternative and much more readily available JAP 5 engine used by BMB in the ploughmate to get ploughing until you restore your B&S to working condition .
    regards FP

Anonymous
    Inactive