Auto Culto

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    vhgmcbuddy

Hello All,
    I’m totally new to this. I’ve just acquired an Auto Culto Autogardener (I think) pics attached. I think it has a Mk15 Villiers engine that runs. That is my sum total of knowledge. I want to restore it to as near original condition as possible. Is there anyone out there who is prepared to answer daft questions? such as my first one of how does the throttle cable route and attach to the carb. (I realise that the carb is missing its bowl and filter).

Attachments:
    charlie
    Keymaster

Welcome to the world of old garden machinery. The throttle connects in a similar way to the one below, which is on a Barford Atom.

Attachments:
    vhgmcbuddy

Thanks for the welcome and the info.

will-haggle
    Participant

Here’s a picture of my Autogardener (blue) and my Junior (yellow).

Attachments:
    will-haggle
    Participant

There is a register for Autoculto machines, run by Jim Beacon it’s at http://www.g1jbg.co.uk/autoculto/index.htm

vhgmcbuddy

Thank you, the pics are a great help. Do I have to put a lead substitute additive in the petrol and what is the modern equivalent oil for the sump?

charlie
    Keymaster

I would recommend a lead substitute such as Castrol Valvemaster, it is also worth using an additive such as Ethomix, this helps reduce some of the effects of ethanol in the fuel; it will not overcome material compatability issues. For more on fuel additives see FBHVC website also includes list of tested and approved additives.
    Original oil would have been Castrol XL SAE30 or similar, this oil is still available, Morris Oils also do a suitable one. Do not use a modern multigarde oil, the detergents in it will wash sludge etc from engine and could block oil ways.

vhgmcbuddy